Staring down into the well,
watching the flipped coins ripples.
Waiting for the miracle,
as a sudden bright light sizzles.
Then a breeze so light, like the touch of a flower,
washes by as all turned sour.
Alas, another moment of hope has been lost,
and time had gone by far too fast.
The light within me is dying away,
the fire is burning out.
Standing still yet in the wind I sway,
as my mind clutters with doubt.
Having taken one too many jabs,
I’ve finally had enough.
My mind is like a million open tabs
and life is just too tough.
Everything has been given.
All has been lost.
I sit back with a mind so driven.
Silently undoing my crimes; paying the cost.
Once I’d paid the piper
and been rid of my deal with the devil.
I cut all loose ends with a sniper,
and in my freedom I did revel.

