People change.

I’m not the same person I was a year ago.

And I won’t be the exact same a year from now. I know this.

But sometimes the suddenness of change,  surprises me.

It baffles me how someone can be one of your closest friends, whom you think you can trust with just about anything,  and a month later they despise you with a hatred of a thousand venomous snakes.

How can someone declare their love for you one moment,  and the next say that you’re better off being friends?

How can life seem so uncomplicated, then turn upside down, leaving you flat on your face?

I know change is the only constant in life.

But it still scares me.

Right this moment,  I wouldn’t say my life is perfect,  but for the first time in a long time,  I’m content with myself.

Even though I have plenty of things to make me want to run away screaming, I’m satisfied with what I have.

I can handle change,  but I’m terrified of becoming the lonely,  depressed person I used to be.

Has anyone else ever felt this way?

 

